1 Year of Travel: A Look Back (Part 1 – The Beauty)

May 1, 2014 marks the one year anniversary of me quitting my job and driving away from San Francisco, my home of 17 years. I left behind my friends, my cats, my business, and everything I knew in life. I had no idea what lay ahead of me, but I knew I had to do this. In the last year, I drove over 12,000 miles (alone), visited 32 US states, 9 countries and took 12 flights. This trip has been everything I had hoped for and more. I am grateful everyday that I am able to live my dream, and I don’t have a single regret. A now for a look back at my favorite scenes…

This planet we live on is amazing. Beauty is everywhere you look, if you open your eyes. I don’t own a camera because I try to live in the moment wherever I am, and I find having a camera distracts me from this. Sometimes I wish I had more than my iPhone 4S to capture the loveliness in front of me, and to be able to share this with others, but I think the iPhone does a good enough job for me. Below are some of the most wonderful things I’ve seen.

Old Faithful Geyser, Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Old Faithful Geyser, Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

The Badlands National Park, South Dakota

The Badlands National Park, South Dakota

Chicago, Illinois

Chicago, Illinois

Niagara Falls, Canada

Niagara Falls, Canada

Cartagena, Colombia

Cartagena, Colombia

Parque Nacional Tayrona, Colombia

Parque Nacional Tayrona, Colombia

Guatapé, Colombia

Guatapé, Colombia

2013-12-06 11.39.30

La Antigua, Guatemala

El Tunco, El Salvador

El Tunco, El Salvador

Tikal National Park, Guatemala

Tikal National Park, Guatemala

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica

Bocas del Toro, Panama

Bocas del Toro, Panama

Little Corn Island, Nicaragua

Little Corn Island, Nicaragua

Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua

Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua

 Continued…1 Year of Travel:  A Look Back (Part 2 – The Adventures)

Categories: Colombia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Panama, Recap, RTW, Solo Travel, USA, Year 1 | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “1 Year of Travel: A Look Back (Part 1 – The Beauty)

  1. Paul Bell

    Hi Laurie, congrats on the one year mark. You should be so proud of what you’ve done and I hope you can continue as long as possible. You will have such an amazing experience to cherish forever. When it comes right down to it, what is our purpose here, how can we not see and enjoy all the wonderful people and sites on earth. Kudos to you! Paul Bell

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

