1 Year of Travel: A Look Back (Part 2 – The Adventures)

When I started this trip, I decided that I wanted to try as much as possible, to challenge myself to move beyond my usual comfort zone and to accept challenges that came my way, physical, emotional and mental. Everything I tried opened my eyes a bit more and made me stronger from the inside out. Some of my favorite adventures of the last year…

The Road Trip – I spend over two full months driving alone through the US. This was an adventure in and of itself, testing my driving skills (which are awesome, by the way, with zero tickets and zero accidents), my ability to deal with boredom and my imagination to pass the time. The road trip taught me patience and an appreciation for listening to books on tape.

My view for thousands of miles driving through middle America & the teddy bear mascot I picked up in Yellowstone

My view for thousands of miles driving through middle America & the teddy bear mascot I picked up in Yellowstone

I started without a map thinking my phone and GPS would be enough.  Thankfully my friends in Utah gave me this one, and it became my daily bible.

I started without a map thinking my phone and GPS would be enough. Thankfully my friends in Utah gave me this one, and it became my daily bible.

Hiking Alone – I understand that this might not seem like an “adventure” to many people, but for me it was scary and liberating.  For much of my travel, I found myself alone, but still wanting to go on hikes.  Would it be safe?  What if I fell?  Had a heart attack?  Got lost?  Finally, I just sucked it up and went for it.  And I found that being alone with nature can be incredibly freeing.

Hiking alone in Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Hiking alone in Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Scuba Diving – I was certified a few years ago, and regrettably I have not used my certification as much as I could.  In Colombia, I was able to go diving, and for the first time ever, at a sunken ship.  The crew didn’t tell us about it, so when I looked up and saw the ship, I was so awed.

Scuba Diving in Colombia

Scuba Diving in Colombia

Horseback Riding Up A Live Volcano – A few weeks after I went on this adventure, the volcano started erupting and they had to cancel the tours temporarily.

Horseback Riding Up Pacaya Volcano, Guatemala

Horseback Riding Up Pacaya Volcano, Guatemala

Boarding Down a Live Volcano – This one was probably the craziest, but this is the only place in the world where you can board down a live volcano.

Volcano Boarding, Cerro Negro, Leon, Nicaragua

Volcano Boarding, Cerro Negro, Leon, Nicaragua

ATM Cave Tour – Sadly, I have no photos to show with this adventure, but this might be the coolest thing I have done.  The Actun Tunichil Muknal (ATM) cave tour (outside San Ignacio, Belize), leads you on a hike with three river crossing to get to the cave entrance.  Once there, you have to wade, swim, scramble over rocks, sneak in between rocks to end about two miles inside to an ancient Mayan burial site.  My description does not do this adventure justice, so you can read more about it here.  I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants a challenge and fun!

I plan on continuing the adventures and saying “yes!” to all the crazy opportunities I’m given…..

Continued….1 Year of Travel:  A Look Back (Part 3 – The Animals)

Categories: Adventure, Colombia, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Recap, RTW, USA, Year 1 | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “1 Year of Travel: A Look Back (Part 2 – The Adventures)

  1. Pingback: 1 Year of Travel: A Look Back (Part 1 – The Beauty) | Living La Vida Laurie

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

