1 Year of Travel: A Look Back (Part 4 – The People)

In my first year of travel, the very best thing has been the people that I have met up with along the way.  The friends and family I visited on my road trip gave me a chance to take another look at my past and remember where I have been.  I met up with old elementary school, high school, and college friends, old co-workers and people I had met on previous travels.  And family too!  I was able to spend time with family members that my old day-to-day life didn’t give me the time to do.  I am so grateful for this.

Friends I visited in the US

Friends I visited in the US

More Friends!

More Friends!

Family!

Family!

I want to give a shout out to my four friends who have come to visit me after I left the US.  Jessica, Nicole, Craig and Sabeena, your visits meant more to me than you could ever know.  You all remind me that no matter how I travel or where I go, I will always have my friends and family only a flight away.  Love you guys.

My Visitors!

My Visitors!

And finally, my new friends.  I knew I would meet people along the way, but I had no idea how many bonds I would form in a short period of time.  I have met people in this last year that I know I will be in touch with for the rest of my life.  Some people I lived with for months, and others I met only once that have touched my life, opened my eyes, and changed my world.  For this I am truly grateful.

New Friends!

New Friends!

More New Friends!

More New Friends!

Ok, so that is my “people” recap.  If I have left anyone out, I apologize.  I realize that I forgot to take pics with some very important people I spent time with like Kristen in Boston, Toby in Connecticut and Nicole in Guatemala, but I remember and think about all of you.  I promise to continue to meet new friends and try my best to keep up with everyone.

And for the next year of my travels?  Who knows?  I am in Nicaragua for awhile, and I plan on getting back to New York for a visit sometime this summer.  The plan is to be in Asia by the fall.  I can’t wait to see where year 2 takes me.   Sending love and hugs to everyone!

Categories: Friends and Family, Recap, RTW, Year 1 | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “1 Year of Travel: A Look Back (Part 4 – The People)

  1. Pingback: 1 Year of Travel: A Look Back (Part 3 – The Animals) | Living La Vida Laurie

  2. Lisa

    Sending love and hugs right back at ya!

  3. Walter Darbonne

    Hi Laurie- I just ran across your travel blog via LinkedIn. This chapter of life and your travels look like a great adventure. It’s not surprising that you have made friends easily along the way. All the best as you move forward!
    Walter

  4. Lynne Yost

    Yay! You’re still friends with Toby… If you have time to kill in NY, let me know. –Lynne

  5. Lynne Yost

    That little kid Larissa that you cross-stitched a 1st bday gift for is going to Ithaca College in 3 days! And her sister is starting 10th grade. I think of you sometimes when we go to soccer games in Oneonta!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

