What’s Next for Laurie?

Hey friends, family and fans of Living La Vida Laurie.  I hope I still have some fans out there, after the months of silence I have had on this blog.  I’m glad you’re here reading, because I need to ask for some help.  I am finally done travelling.  Yup, you heard that right.  I am tired of traveling.  After almost 3 years, I can finally say that I am over it.  There is no place I’m dying to visit.  I am no longer fantasizing about new horizons and strange languages and new people.  My fantasies are now about having my own pillow and relationships that last longer than 2 weeks and a routine and basically a “normal” life.  I’m dreaming of a tiny room or apartment…maybe something the size of a hotel room that is all mine.  I want to surround myself with the small souvenirs I picked up during my travels, like the mini-Persian carpet from Iran, the stamped aluminum mugs from Thailand, the mini Loch Ness monster statue from Scotland, the gorgeous fabric from Bali, the jade cat from Guatemala and the ceramic bowls from Peru.  I want to join a gym and a yoga studio and start a book club and start volunteering with cats and find a local coffee shop and dive bar.  I am craving a quiet, simple life.  The problem…I’m not sure where to do this.

2015-08-16 20.20.00

Option #1-San Francisco:

2014-09-06 13.45.16

I could easily head back to San Francisco, and re-start my life there.  I love San Francisco and always have and always will.  I spent 17 years there, practically my entire adult life.  I still have friends I love there (although many have moved away in the last three years).  I think I could easily start my consulting business again in the Bay Area.  I have already reached out to some previously clients, who have expressed an interest in rehiring me, which is a great feeling.  San Francisco is a logical and safe place to go.  I might just go back there.  But another part of me is looking for a clean slate.  A fresh start…

Option #2-Southern California (LA or San Diego):

2016-01-03 14.42.05

I’ve been entertaining the idea of starting fresh in a new city where I don’t know anyone.  Something about this is exciting and terrifying to me.  I would love to start my consulting business again from scratch, as a challenge to see if I could.  Or maybe even get a new job in an entirely different field.  After spending the last few weeks in Upstate New York visiting my family, I have decided that I am a warm weather kinda gal, and I’m not a fan of cold or snow (sorry mom).  I want to live somewhere where I can walk around outside with sun on my face most days.  I also want to be near the ocean.  So LA or San Diego are on my short list, leaning more toward San Diego as there are many biotech companies there, if I want to start my consulting business again.  The biggest issue with this option is money.  I have left myself some cash to get started again, but I know how difficult starting a business is.  It took me 18 months when I started Carvill Consulting the first time to really get traction and make enough money to survive.  I don’t have 18 months of runway at this point, so either I would have to be successful faster or get a job for a while, save up more money and start the business again.

Option #3-Someplace else:

P001-332-256-330-01098

I have entertained ideas of moving to a few other places in the U.S.  The Washington DC area is one place on the list, although they really blew it this year in the snow department.  I am going to be a first-time aunt in June, and my brother and his wife live outside of DC, so it would be great to be close to my new nephew.  I sometimes think about the Raleigh-Durham, North Carolina area.  I have no idea why.  I’ve never spent any time there. I don’t know many people there.  I just feel like it would be a nice place.  I have also had some quickly passing thoughts about Austin, the city in Texas that is not like Texas.

So this is where I need help.  I’m looking to all my friends and family to help me decide what the heck I’m going to do next.  I would love to hear from anyone who has ideas or opinions on the options above, job leads, apartment leads, housesitting opportunities, words of encouragement, or even suggestions on how to make a decision as I am stuck.  Maybe you know someone who is looking for a roommate or your company is looking to hire a well-travelled engineer.  I am really excited about the next chapter in my life; I just need help finding out where that is going to be.  So I’m wide open to suggestions.  Email me, comment below, and share your thoughts.  Love and peace to all….  xo Laurie

Categories: Uncategorized | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “What’s Next for Laurie?

  1. Hi Laurie
    Great to have options. Since we got home from Nicaragua I have been involved in the start up community. Boulder Colorado is the place to be. Lots of jobs and I think you would fit right in. Jobs also in hospitality supporting all the venture capitalists and tech geeks.

    • I didn’t mention it in my post, but Boulder was another place I’ve had fleeting thoughts about. I think the cold might get me though. And no ocean dang it! Glad you guys are well! 😙

  2. Jose

    Puerto Rico,Cuba and Spain.You’ve been to all three.They have Rotary Clubs for information and contacts for startup businesses.Technical translators/interpreters for ISO/EU conformity and consulting issues,warm climates, and warm people who love you in Spain.Great air/land transportation with direct flights to DC.Great Vinos,tapas, and nightlife in Spain.(I was only 4 years old when I was in PR.)Did I mention,Spain? I haven’t been to Cuba yet,but I would surely like to go.I’ve made some great friends along the way that are from their. The island folks can make something out of nothing.How can I compete with a newborn and a Havana Club and Coke?

  3. Ruby

    I don’t have an answer regarding where but I will always be in support of your consulting gig. I am here as a reference for the work you did at Principia. I’m wondering if your consulting work could use a shake up?? We talked a little bit about this before you left. Would love to keep chatting over coffee?

  4. Laura LaFontaine

    I have thoroughly enjoyed following your adventures over the past few years! I would drill Trisha with questions after her meet ups with you. You’re very inspiring. Just an FYI – Kathleen (Delehanty) Bentley, Nancy (Tuck) Nickel, and Keith Updyke all live in Apex, NC (5 minutes from each other). Apex is 15 minutes outside Raleigh. It’s a beautiful area – named best place to live in the US by Money magazine last summer
    http://www.newsobserver.com/news/local/counties/wake-county/article31293701.html

    You’ll land exactly where you’re supposed to be 🙂 I look forward to your next adventures!

    Laura

    • Laura you need to join us for a meet up! I’m always happy to share. Thanks for the info about Kathleen et.al. I knew they were down there, but I wasn’t sure where. I’m in a toss up between there and San Diego at this point. I need to do more research. I hope we can catch up soon. ☺️

  5. John McEnte

    If you need to get your business up and running quickly, I would suggest coming back to the Bay Area where you have prior recognition. There is also the Santa Cruz area.

    I lived in Raleigh, NC for a couple of years (30 years ago). I enjoyed living there. It’s a pretty nice place with a college culture influence, which makes it pretty familiar socially. You also might like Chapel Hill. There should be plenty of work for your business there.

    The weather is fabulous in the spring and fall . . . really special. Summers and Winters, however are not so comfortable. For a month or two in summer it gets up in the high 90s with 100% humidity and doesn’t cool off much in the evenings. Most people stay in their air-conditioned homes during those times. The winters are mild by east-coast standards but expect cold days (below freezing) and occasional “freezing rain” or snow or both for a month or two.

    If you want to go to the beach from the Raleigh-Durham area, you have to go to the Outer Banks (by ferry) because the actual coast is a swamp, thick with mosquitos.

    • Thanks for the info John. I might go back to SF for awhile to make some money and then make a move from there. It’s not a bad option.

  6. Cindy

    Laurie !! You still have friends in San Francisco ! Cost of living has only gotten worse in the last 3yrs. But in some ways it’s become a more accessible city. Even my ‘hood waaaaaay out in the Outer Sunset is getting more hip – Uber or Lyft will take you from here to downtown just about anytime.

    If not to stay, hope you’ll have some time to visit here soon!

  7. Gordon

    Stay here in the Bay Area! We need your energy and enthusiasm! (and no shortage of yoga studios/gyms)
    :o)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

